Skip to content

The Hungry Gap Has Closed

June 22, 2016

DSCN6841

The allotment is beginning to fill with various beans climbing their supports and lots of tomato plants in flower in the new greenhouse. The paths have been strimmed – an irksome but essential task and it always improves the feel of the space. Broad beans, spinach and summer calabrese are cropping and beetroot and flat-leaf parsley sown six weeks ago are growing well.

DSCN6825

And it’s onion central here in the porch. These were planted from sets last Autumn and I’m pretty sure it’s the first time that I’ve planted before Spring. They filled out the beds and gave form from the start of the growing season.

DSCN6831

The potatoes leafed up relatively early too so within weeks the allotment looked as if it meant business. Broad beans have started to grow strongly after a faltering start and are covered in flowers with the first substantial crop this week.

DSCN4707

The garlic is small but good enough ( 2 rows were lost to rust).

DSCN6850

And the courgettes have produced their dramatic flowers in the last two weeks …

DSCN6821

I picked a small vase of Iceberg roses for a moment of calm and tranquility.

DSCN6854

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2016 9:21 am

    Your onions look great; my garlic had rust but I’ve harvested it all and I hope it will last through the year as it usually does, but as long as I have masses during the summer for roasted vegetables etc. etc. I won’t mind if I run out and have to buy some fresh in the winter. My beans are slow and I need to sow some more dwarf beans and the yard long beans that do so well in the heat. Enjoy all your pickings.

  2. June 22, 2016 9:53 am

    Roasted garlic and onions have a most delicious flavour and it’s somehow more intense than frying. That’s tonight’s supper sorted: oven roasted with carrots, courgettes and celery and added to cooked pasta and ham.

  3. June 23, 2016 2:35 pm

    My garlic had rust for a month or so but it didn’t seem to affect the bulbs 😀

  4. June 23, 2016 2:55 pm

    Yes I fear I may have been a bit hasty discarding two rows. Blogging advice is very helpful and next year I shall be more circumspect.

  5. June 28, 2016 7:43 am

    The allotment…growing food for home…absolutely the best…in so many ways! Thank you for sharing that glory.

  6. June 28, 2016 7:59 am

    Yes from plot to plate in the shortest time and in addition fresh air and exercise!

Leave a Reply

