Skip to content

Green Tomato Chutney

August 18, 2016

DSCN6887

A large limb of green tomatoes was torn from the main stem in error I hasten to add. I spotted an easy recipe from the RHS Allotment Journal and halved the ingredients and saved the day.

RECIPE:

I kg of green toms finely chopped

500 g onions finely chopped

2 fresh green chillies de-seeded and finely chopped

2 crushed garlic cloves

1 tsp ground ginger

Pinch of cloves and pinch of turmeric

50 g raisins

250 g soft brown sugar

300 ml white wine vinegar

METHOD:

In a large saucepan add all the ingredients and stir together. Bring to the boil then reduce the heat and cover the pan stirring frequently. Simmer for one and a quarter hours then transfer to warm jars. This makes about 2 kg of chutney in four jam jars. Leave to mature in a cool place for at least three weeks.

IMGP0785

The tomatoes are ripening fast in the greenhouse but I seem to have lost all the labels so I can’t say which is the best flavour. What I do know is I’ll be growing more next year.

IMGP0854

A friend who has a fantastic crop of garlic this year separated two bulbs from bunches of garlic bought from a market stall on the Portobello Road last September. I am guessing they looked as authentic and organic as these which came from a market in France this week. The cloves will be separated and planted out in September and I’ll see what happens.

IMGP0822

Seeds of Kohlrabi ‘Delicacy Purple’ were sown directly in the soil on the plot two weeks ago as were ‘Amsterdam Forcing 3’ carrots and there’s no sign of either-yet.

This week the cut flowers are cosmos, calendulas and nasturtiums with a few alstroemeria flowers from the supermarket.

IMGP0783

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2016 8:13 am

    I never seem to have green tomatoes here – they all ripen or are tiny by the end of the season (I don’t feed them enough). Of course I’m not complaining! This year’s Roma crop has been amazing, I have masses of sauce in the store cupboard and I’m now drying some in the dehydrator, I might turn some of these into the thick, rich, sweet paste. Yours look very healthy. BTW I usually find most chutneys have a much more rounded flavour after six month’s to a year.

  2. August 18, 2016 8:21 am

    I like the sound of the paste. I regularly make an Italian sauce from onions, garlic, celery, carrots and tomatoes. I cook it for an hour and then puree it before bagging it up for the freezer-is that a paste?

Leave a Reply

