Skip to content

Climbers as Ground Cover

September 8, 2016

Image result for akebia quinata

Inspired by James Wong  suggesting climbing plants for ground-cover I’ve lifted and re-planted the climber Akebia quinata. I bought two in my impatience to cover the arbour and one took off in a spectacular fashion whilst the other dawdled.  I can see that one plant will be enough to combine with the golden hop and Solanum crispum ‘Album’- I just need to be patient and wait. So the slower akebia is now planted as ground cover in a part-shady bed and where, with some protection from the wall, it might remain in leaf all year. The flowers are scented and appear in early spring and I’m imagining them mingling around the base of several Helleborus argutifolius all doing well in the same bed.  Watch this space.

We’ve had a great crop of Calabrese Marathon for the last eight weeks…

imgp0901

And Spinach Beet…

imgp0908A large squash (I think it’s Baby Bear) has ripened and will be roasted with onions, peppers and garlic.  Next to it is the first of the Sarah Raven climbing squash ‘Munchkin’. It’s one of seven clambering over supports and these will be left to grow a bit bigger and steaming is suggested.
imgp0902

The first borlottis are ready with a huge row that were sown much later to follow…

imgp0905

Some rather interesting plants appeared in the garden eight weeks ago in a bed planted with Verbena bonariensis.  Several have come up in a neat row so it sort of feels intentional but I can’t claim responsibility. The flowers are insignificant but the wiry form makes a great contribution in a vase…IMG_20160904_142636221

Here it is with Sedum ‘Autumn Joy’ and Verbena bonariensis…

imgp0894

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2016 4:16 pm

    What a delicious and colourful harvest, the idea of using (edible) climbers as ground cover is inspired.

    • September 9, 2016 7:45 am

      I hadn’t realised that Akebia quinata was edible. I will examine the pods on the more established one next Spring after flowering.

  2. September 8, 2016 5:39 pm

    I sometimes use Solanum jasminoides as ground cover, it actually grows much better like that than as a climber and I always think that winter Jasmin is much better left to tumble down a slope than try to make grow up a support.

    • September 9, 2016 7:48 am

      Yes I love seeing Winter jasmine tumbling over walls.There are one or two spectacular examples near here which I’ll try to photograph next year.

  3. John permalink
    September 15, 2016 4:29 pm

    Verbena Bonariensis, I rue the day I introduced it into my garden, incredibly invasive although it is easy to pull up.

  4. September 19, 2016 7:35 pm

    Using climbers as ground cover is a great idea, I’m going to give that a try.

Leave a Reply

