Skip to content

Potatoes

March 9, 2017

The potatoes are chitting and I have to confess I’ve planted the Charlottes. It’s a bit early but I googled the weather for the next ten days and it is forecast to be mild. They are planted in ground that had been protected all winter with a tarpaulin and after planting I covered the bed with a clear polythene sheet. I felt guilty for the planted  tubers on the way home but with a busy month coming up I am taking a chance to get ahead. Last year the potatoes went in early and yes they were hit by frost, the blackened leaves proved it, but they were unharmed as a crop.

The Purple Sprouting Broccoli,  protected from pigeons with a net curtain, has just started to sprout and will fill a definite hungry gap.

The broad beans are in and more have been sown in a pot to spread the crop over a month or two. They were covered in netting when Storm Doris was hurtling towards us and it will be taken off this weekend.

This sweet potato and lentil soup was a delicious mid-week lunch.  The fried garlic, onion and root ginger intensifies the sweetness whilst the curry powder contributes a spicy hit with a bit of heat. No coriander in the fridge so I substituted pea shoots and sprinkled them over the top.

Probably this is the last blog about hellebores for now but they’ve been such a joy and even in their faded glory they add a huge amount to the late Winter/early Spring borders. I shall continue to cut them for the house for the next two weeks then hopefully the tulips will follow.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2017 10:55 am

    My broad beans aren’t much taller than yours, although with the warm weather of the last couple of days they are growing as I look at them. I don’t grow potatoes as I don’t really have the space, but I always loved ‘Charlotte’!

    • March 10, 2017 12:36 pm

      Early salad potatoes are good because they are lifted out by the beginning of August. Then the beds can be used for other crops.

  2. March 15, 2017 7:59 pm

    I choose Charlottes most years too as I much prefer salad potatoes. Still need to buy them though! Your soup looks and sounds delicious and pea shoots with their tendrils look prettier than coriander in any case.

    • March 16, 2017 8:38 am

      I discovered that Charlotte can be left in the ground as late as October and remain waxy and delicious.

Leave a Reply

