Skip to content

A Taste of Palestine

March 23, 2017

In anticipation of a trip to the Levant I felt it was essential to familiarise myself with some recipes so I started with these savoury Za’atar buns.

I found them in Joudie Kalla’s cookbook Palestine on a Plate where she says for displaced Palestinians, food is a means of connecting with their culture.  Since the occupation food has taken on huge importance and her book is full of tempting yet simple recipes cooked for generations past. Rummaniyeh – a combination of pomegranates, lentils, aubergine, garlic and lemons – will become a favourite.

 

Slowly climbing up the wall, not me, the ornamental quince Chaenomeles japonica has been in flower since early January.  Fruit occasionally appear but are never edible but the subtle orange/red of the flowers is why I love it against the grey stone wall.

The sweet peas sown in November and kept in the poly tunnel, have had their tips pinched out and are now in the ground. And the purple peas are also planted out to free up shelves in anticipation of serious sowing on my return. A net will be draped over the bamboo frame in a week or two to give them support on their journey up.

Tulip Belle Epoch and T. Bruine Wimpel are bursting into flower and look great in these black pots.

And whilst I was in the garden snapping the tulips a robin let me know that the bird feeder was empty.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2017 1:30 pm

    The Za’atar savoury buns look and sound delicious, I shall look this recipe book up. There are so many lovely things popping up in the garden now, like your lovely tulips and the promise of sweet peas. This is what makes all the hard work so worthwhile.

    • March 23, 2017 4:10 pm

      Yes I love this time of year and that every day there are changes in the borders and it all looks vibrant and green,

  2. March 23, 2017 8:36 pm

    Your Chaenomeles looks brilliantly trained. They are best up a wall, I’ve tried growing them as shrubs but they seem to get rather unruly.

  3. March 24, 2017 12:11 pm

    Thanks for these recipes. I love the sound of the Rummaniyeh particularly since it combines a lot of my favourites! Your tulips are looking mighty fine. I didn’t buy any Bruine Wimpel this year, but really love them so will enjoy yours instead.

  4. March 27, 2017 5:22 pm

    I’ve just planted my sweetpeas into the greenhouse border hoping for some early blooms before it gets too hot. The recipes look delicious.

  5. November 4, 2017 5:40 pm

    Lovely Japonica, but the fruit are most certainly edible. The toughness can be overcome by deep-freezing and re-thawing them. This mimics the climate of their native land.

Leave a Reply

