Skip to content

Rhubarb

April 10, 2017

When rhubarb plants are divided up they can take a couple of years to re-established but three years on I have a fine crop.  Here’s a fab recipe for Rhubarb, Cardamom and Rose jam from Diana Henry’s excellent book Salt, Sugar, Smoke. The subtle flavour of cardamom and the intense flavour of rose water is a stunning combination and I have cropped the rest of the rhubarb to make more. urbanvegpatch.blog has some good ides for using rhubarb especially the meringue pudding recipe.

A reminder from a stall in Jerusalem to sow radishes, Spring onions and more flat-leaf parsley this week. The seeds will be sown in labelled rows directly into raked soil that will have been gently watered.

Broccoli ‘Rudolph’ seeds sown two weeks ago in a pot are now in individual plugs to establish strong roots. This will begin to crop in September but is at its very best from November to February. My Purple Sprouting Broccoli plants have been cropping since Mid-March and it will be good to bridge the gap with this earlier one next Autumn/Winter.

Verbena bonariensis plants needed cutting back months ago – they were nearly a metre tall. With lots of new green side shoots all the way up the plant I was reluctant to waste them. So I snipped off the shoots and dipped the ends in hormone rooting powder and 8 weeks on they have formed good roots. There’s plenty of time to do this if you wish to propagate from older plants since they grow fast when planted in the soil and flower late summer till early Winter.

I was glad not to have missed Tulip ‘Bruine Wimpel’ whilst away and it goes well with the lime-green of Euphorbia robbiae.

 

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2017 11:25 am

    That’s a very good tip for rooting Verbena bonariensis, I wouldn’t have guessed it would be possible. Hope you had a lovely break, how nice to find so many goodies waiting for you in the garden on your return.

  2. April 10, 2017 11:45 am

    Hi Kate

    We had a brilliant trip and have returned with a raised awareness of life for Palestinians. Now re-energised for a massive seed-sowing week.

  3. April 10, 2017 11:38 pm

    I’ve saved the Rhubarb jam recipe for use next year. My current favourite combination is rhubarb and orange with dark brown sugar baked slowly in the oven.

  4. April 12, 2017 7:50 am

    Good luck with all your seed sowing …. I am waiting till the end of April, once we return from a holiday, so I am going to be desperate by then! The jam looks delicious … rosewater seems to be a very useful addition to several preserves. Glad that you got to see your Bruine Wimpel.

  5. April 12, 2017 11:04 am

    The end of April is perfect timing. I always feel the need to get ahead but it all catches up in the end. And now enjoying Tulip ‘Brown Sugar’ in pots in the garden.

  6. April 12, 2017 9:23 pm

    I shall also be trying the Verbena bonariensis trick. I’ve still got some left that I haven’t cut back yet.

  7. April 13, 2017 7:55 am

    Yes I made about 14 new plants now in the ground and looking healthy.

  8. April 13, 2017 4:24 pm

    I’m glad you’re enjoying your T. Brown Sugar, mine all all finished, even those that have been in the ground a while (although the mice had some of those!!! The jam sounds delicious but sadly I can’t get rhubarb to establish here.

  9. April 17, 2017 11:43 pm

    Just catching up, Sue – thank you for the mention, most appreciated – and for the timely tip about rooting V bonariensis. I actually cut mine back today but think there may be one or two bits that I can still cut. I love this plant and would so love a few more. I’ll definitely be trying out the jam recipe, sounds delicious, thanks for the link!

Leave a Reply

